Fitting The Pieces Together

Posted: April 18, 2011 in Uncategorized

Now that I have a deeper understanding of the different learning theories and styles my view on the way I learn has increased.  In the week one discussion I identified my learning style with behaviorism because I am motivated by reinforcement.  I still feel that behaviorism best describes the way I learn, but now I would also relate with connectivism.  “Learning is a process of connecting specialized nodes or information sources” (Davis, Edmunds, & Kelly-Bateman, 2008).  My network connections are important in the way I learn.  My social connections include email, Skype, and my mobile phone.  Through these connections I learn a lot of information about events, problems, and successes.  My education connections and work connections are equally important in gaining knowledge and skill.

Over the past seven weeks I learned that the environment plays a huge role in my learning style.  During this course at times I had to alter my learning environment because of the demands of my job, and my personal life.  When I do school work I like to be on my computer at my desk.  When I am reading I have to be at my desk or somewhere quiet in my house (except my bed).  I will immediately fall asleep if I read in bed.  I found myself reading and submitting assignments at work, in a hotel, and in a car.  I found it extremely difficult to learn in these new environments.  I found it difficult to even get started, and sometimes I could not do it.  At work I am used to grading assignments, and creating lessons, not reading books, and typing discussions.  It was nearly impossible for me to be motivated outside my usual learning environment.

Technology has always played an important role in my learning, and now with online schooling technology has became even more important.  All of my education is done on the computer, along with most of my work assignments.  In the next week or so I will be getting an interactive whiteboard in my classroom, and technology will play an even bigger role.  Just about everything I do today is done with some form of technology, from calculators to computers, and email to mobile phones.  There are still times while I am teaching that I will use chalk and an overhead, but that is happening less and less often.

Davis, C, Edmunds, E, & Kelly-Bateman, V. (2008). Connectivism. In M. Orey (Ed.), Emerging perspectives on learning, teaching, and technology. Retrieved April, 17th 2011, from http://projects.coe.uga.edu/epltt/

Leave a Reply

